Like most states, motorists in Arkansas are required to purchase and carry automobile insurance before they can legally drive their vehicle. Purchasing auto insurance protects drivers, passengers, pedestrians and other people on the road should an accident involving a motor vehicle occur.
Despite laws regarding auto insurance, many motorists drive without insurance or without sufficient insurance coverage. If you’re injured in a car accident due to the negligence of another, you’ll most likely file a claim with the insurance company of the other driver unless you live in a “no-fault” state. (Arkansas is not a no-fault state.)
If you have been injured or if your loved one has been killed as a result of a motor vehicle accident involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist, contact Attorney Group today. Those affected and their families may be able to pursue a claim and recover compensation with the help of a personal injury attorney.
For more information, contact Attorney Group. We offer free, confidential, no obligation consultations. We can help answer your questions, and if you choose to pursue a claim, we can connect you with an affiliated attorney who can assist you throughout the legal process.
Arkansas Auto Insurance Laws
Motorists in Arkansas are required to maintain certain minimum amounts of auto insurance coverage in order to operate a motor vehicle legally. At minimum, motorists must carry liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 for bodily injury or death for one person in an accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle ($50,000 for total bodily injury, if more than one person is injured). Likewise, motorists must carry insurance in the amount of $25,000 for property damage per accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle. In addition to the minimum amount of liability insurance a driver must carry, there are other types of insurance you can add to your policy to cover special circumstances.
Should I Purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Insurance?
Uninsured and/or underinsured motorist (UM) insurance coverage helps pay for injuries or property damage resulting from an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a driver whose insurance is insufficient to cover the costs of the injured party. While motorists in Arkansas are not required to purchase this type of insurance, insurance companies are required to offer it.
If you have UM insurance coverage, it might be more advantageous to file a claim with your own insurance company. Most insurance companies won’t allow you to carry more UM coverage than your own liability coverage. If you decide to file a claim, it is best that you do so as soon as you can. Many insurance companies give policyholders a small window to file such a claim. Of course, if the at-fault driver does not have any insurance whatsoever, you’ll want to file a claim with your insurance company.
Should I Hire a Lawyer If I’ve Been Injured in an Accident Involving an Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist?
If you’ve been injured in an accident in which the negligent party was uninsured or underinsured, you might consider discussing your potential case with an experienced personal injury lawyer. This is particularly true if you do not have UM insurance coverage, or if your insurance coverage will not cover the entire costs associated with your injuries. An attorney can discuss the facts of your case and help you determine whether you should file a claim and pursue legal action against the at-fault driver.
Should I Expect to Receive Compensation for My Injuries?
It is important to know that just because you file a lawsuit and are scheduled to recover compensation for your injuries, you may not be able to collect all of it. If the defendant in the case has no money or assets, such as the case with many people who do not carry car insurance, it might difficult for you to actually get them to pay. It can be frustrating to know that a lawsuit might not be effective, but an experienced attorney can help you determine if legal action is right for you.
The Time You Have to Pursue a Claim is Limited. Contact Us Today.
For more information, contact Attorney Group. After you contact us, an attorney will follow up to answer questions that you might have.
There is no cost or obligation to speak with us, and any information you provide will be kept confidential.
Please note that the law limits the time you have to pursue a claim or file a lawsuit for an injury. If you think you have a case, you should not delay taking action.